MOL Representation in the Research Commission (FoKo)

The academic mid-level is represented by two persons in the Research Commission (FoKo). You can find the current representatives on the following website: MOL Representatives.

The Research Commission (FoKo) coordinates research policy at the University of Lucerne. This includes the development and coordination of the research strategy as well as the promotion of research activities.

The Research Commission is supported by the Office for Research Promotion.

Tasks of the FoKo

At two meetings per year, the FoKo decides on the administration of the research credit of the University of Lucerne. In addition, it evaluates the applications for support submitted by researchers and allocates the research funds: This includes, for example, project contributions, contributions for start-up financing of third-party project submissions, sabbaticals for postdocs (SpeedUp), conference and publication contributions, mediation projects, exchange and networking. The results of research projects must be made accessible in a scientifically suitable form and are subject to the principle of open access in publications.

Cooperation with internal committees

The FoKo also works together with the Equal Opportunities Commission (GLK) and the Graduate Academy of the University of Lucerne. In addition to the decisions on the allocation of funds from the research credit, the Research Commission has a mandate from the Graduate Academy of the University of Lucerne to scientifically evaluate the applications of doctoral students, e.g. for a mobility grant for research stays abroad. In cooperation with the Equal Opportunities Commission (GLK), funding can also be requested, e.g. in the area of gender research.

Composition of the FoKo

The FoKo consists of 13 members with voting rights, whereby the faculties and the departments are each represented by two professors and the other academic staff and students are each represented by one person. The university manager also has voting rights. The commission is chaired by the responsible prorector (FoKo president). Permanent members without voting rights are the Head of Finance and Accounting, the Equal Opportunities Officer and the Head of the Office for Research Promotion.

Further links

Research at the University of Lucerne
About the development and evaluation of research at the University of Lucerne
Information on funding opportunities