The Senate is the university’s highest academic governing body. It consists of the Rector, the Vice Rectors, the Dean of each faculty, the University Manager, and three representatives each for the professors, academic staff, administrative, technical and other personnel, and students. 

The Senate appoints professors and provides support and guidance to the Rector on key matters pertaining to studies, research and development, services, personnel, and finance. Additionally, the Senate is responsible for preparing the University Council's agenda and submitting corresponding proposals. The specifics are set out in the Senate's organizational regulations.

More information is available in German.