The University of Lucerne research committee (FoKo) is responsible for promoting research activities as well as coordinating research policy. It also serves as the research committee for the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) for the University of Lucerne (FK-SNSF) and awards SNSF mobility grants for emerging researchers. The president of the FoKo/FK-SNSF is Prof. Martin Baumann. The FoKo/FK-SNSF is supported by the Research Promotion Unit, directed by Dr. Bruno Z’Graggen. 


The FoKo’s tasks cover a dual role for both the University of Lucerne and the SNSF.

On behalf of the University of Lucerne:

  • Developing and coordinating the University of Lucerne’s research strategy and policy
  • Administering University of Lucerne research funds
  • Assessing requests for support from University of Lucerne researchers and allocating (subsidiary) research funds in the form of project grants, contributions for project start-up funding, conference and publication grants
  • Working together with the University of Lucerne Equal Opportunity Committee, allocating funds in the field of gender research

 On behalf of the SNSF:

  • FoKo president serving on the SNSF research and foundation board
  • Preselecting and recommending Doc.CH grants, first phase
  • Allocating SNSF mobility grants for emerging researchers, Doc.Mobility and Early Postdoc.Mobility
  • In collaboration with the Research Promotion Unit, a duty to provide information and advice to University of Lucerne researchers regarding SNSF funding opportunities
  • Being accountable to the SNSF regarding university research activities


The FoKo has twelve members with voting rights: in addition to the president, each faculty provides two members, with one further member each from the students and non-professorial teaching staff and the Academic Director. FoKo meetings are also attended in an advisory capacity by the head of the Research Promotion Unit, the head of the Financial Administration Department and the Equal Opportunities Officer. The SNSF-FK also has one further member from each faculty. 

FoKo members with voting rights (the professors are also members of the SNSF-FK) 

  • Präsident, Prof. Dr. phil. Martin Baumann, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät (KSF)
  • Stv., Prof. Dr. iur. lic. oec. Klaus Mathis, Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät (RF) Research Sabbatical
  • Prof. Dr. theol. Verena Lenzen, TF
  • Prof. Dr. phil. Giovanni Ventimiglia, TF (SNSF-FK)
  • Prof. Dr. theol. Robert Vorholt, TF
  • Prof. Dr. phil. Christine Abbt, KSF (SNSF-FK)
  • Prof. Dr. phil. Gisela Michel, KSF
  • Prof. Sophie Mützel, PhD, KSF
  • Prof. Dr. iur. Jürg-Beat Ackermann, RF
  • Prof. Dr. iur., LL.M. Andreas Furrer, RF
  • Prof. Dr. iur. Vagias Karavas, RF (SNSF-FK) Research Sabbatical
  • Prof. Dr. iur. Michele Luminati, RF (SNSF-FK)
  • Prof. Dr. oec. Karolin Frankenberger, WF (SNSF-FK)
  • Prof. Dr. oec. publ. Simon Lüchinger, WF
  • Prof. Dr. oec. publ. Manuel Oechslin, WF
  • Filippo Contarini, MLaw, Vertreter Assistierende, RF
  • Leonie Mathis, BA, Vertreterin Studierende, KSF
  • Dr. sc. nat. Wolfgang Schatz, Secretary General

FoKo advisory members without voting rights 

  • Dr. phil. Bruno Z’Graggen, Leiter Stelle Forschungsförderung (Research Sabbatical)
  • Doris Schmidli, Leiterin Finanz- und Rechnungswesen
  • lic. phil. Ariane De Rocchi, Leiterin Fachstelle für Chancengleichheit


Applications to the FoKo must be addressed to the FoKo President using the official forms. For further information please contact the President, the Secretary or PD Dr. Phil. Michael Jucker, Dep. Head of the Research Promotion Unit


Foto Martin Baumann

Prof. Dr. phil. Martin Baumann, KSF

President FoKo

T +41 41 229 55 80

Room: 3.B18

Mehr Infos zu Prof. Dr. phil. Martin Baumann, KSF (Religionswissenschaftliches Seminar)

Lucette Oggier

Secretary FoKo

T +41 41 229 51 71
F +41 41 229 50 01

Room: 3.A25