Version: Thursday, 2 April 2020

Given the recent developments regarding the spread of COVID-19 the University of Lucerne went digital as of Monday, March 16. University activities will not resume, and the semester will not be interrupted. We will move these activities online, though. These measures will remain effective, as currently expected, until the end of the Easter Break (Monday, April 20 2020).

Uni/PH building closed to the public and for the students

As part of the intensified measures by the federal government and the canton, the Uni/PH building at Frohburgstrasse 3 is closed to the public and for the students with immediate effect until probably 19 April. Access to the site of the Zentral- und Hochschulbibliothek Luzern, which is located in the building, is also closed during this period, and so is the cafeteria. All offers of the Hochschulsport Campus Luzern are also cancelled. Public events  in the Uni/PH building during this time are cancelled or postponed. Please refer to the agenda for details.

Online teaching an meetings with "Zoom"

The "Zoom" software is used for lectures and meetings. Information and instructions can be found at www.unilu.ch/zoom.

Exams

We will be relying on digital solutions for the exams. The faculties and the Department of Health Sciences and Medicine will inform students about the examination modalities soon.

Official duties or extended care responsibilities

At its meeting on 26 March, the Extended Executive Board of the University (EUL) decided that students with corona-related official duties (military service, civil defense service or civilian service; medical assistance service) or with corona-related extended care responsibilities should also have the opportunity to complete the spring term 2020. The faculties will ensure that affected students can follow the digital courses and pass exams. Concerned students should contact their faculty’s student advisory services.

Library

The Lucerne Central and University Library (ZHB Luzern) endeavours to maintain the supply of literature for the University as completely as possible. All ZHB locations and libraries will remain closed until further notice.

All members of the university can order scans of articles and chapters from the entire print collection free of charge to their official email address. Before ordering, please check in the library account that your corresponding email address is correct. Due to copyright law, only excerpts from copyrighted works may be copied and sent.

An alternative is to use the postal service (reduced rate per book: CHF 5.-).

Copies of journal articles or chapters from books can be ordered directly from the library catalogue www.iluplus.ch. After logging in to the catalogue, search for the document and click on the correct hit. If the book is available, the desired action can be selected via the buttons "Order" and "Copy order". Otherwise it is recommended to extend the search to www.swissbib.ch. Please note for copy orders: When specifying page numbers, the library system only transmits 30 characters, although it is possible to write longer texts when ordering. If necessary, we recommend sending several copy orders to avoid this problem.

The range of electronic media remains accessible around the clock at www.zhbluzern.ch/recherche/e-medien/.

For staff: Working hours and timesheets, home office, helping each other

Regulations on working hours and keeping timesheets

The measures to contain the coronavirus are having a strong impact on the work and home life of many members of staff. Taking into account the special circumstances, the extended university board has approved principles and recommendations on working hours and timesheets. In order to ensure that working hours and the keeping of timesheets do not cause additional stress, the university has adopted a simple regulation.

Further information on the regulation of working hours and timesheets (in German)

Home office

Working from home is governed by the existing regulations as per the information sheet dated 24th January 2017, and superiors are called upon to approve home office requests. However, operations must be maintained and a contact person per team must be available.

Further information on the topic of home office (in German)

Helping each other

The corona situation creates new tasks at the university and additional workloads for many employees, while others have free capacities. On the "Helping each other" page, work services can be offered or queried as required, after consultation with superiors.

Support offers / requests for assistance (in German)

Hotline and contact for university members

Members of the Corona working group are available to university members (i.e. students, staff and lecturers) for questions specific to the university: safecoronaremove-this.@remove-this.unilu.ch.

On Tuesday, 17 March, a hotline for university members went into operation. This hotline is in operation on weekdays from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the following numbers:

Students: + 41 41 229 50 51
Lecturers: + 41 41 229 50 52
Staff: + 41 41 229 50 53

All information via telephone is given to the best of our knowledge. Liability of any kind is excluded.

Psychological Counselling

The Psychological Advice Centre of the University of Lucerne, the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU) and the University of Teacher Education (PHLU) offers students, lecturers and employees support, advice and assistance in specific stress situations and with problems connected with university study or everyday professional life. The advice is free of charge and confidential. It is now also possible online. More information (Website Psychological Advice Centre, in German)

Project "Helping each other"

In times of corona with all the restrictions, mutual help is an important aspect to master the negative effects.

The project "Helping each other" connects university members who would like to help and can help with people who need support. It is "peer help" or "neighbourhood help" such as learning assistance, support with technical questions or social contacts. Also involved is the project "eine*r für alle und alle für eine*n", initiated by Prof. Dr. Walter Fellmann, which provides help to older people (errands, social contact etc.). Would you like to help or do you need support? You will find all necessary information on the OLAT page of the project (requires login).

Contact for seniors who need help: nachbarschaftshilferemove-this.@remove-this.unilu.ch or 041 229 50 54 (daily 10.30 a.m. to 3 p.m.)

For employees of the university: support offers / requests for assistance

 

Task force

The University of Lucerne is monitoring the situation continuously and is assessing the situation based on information provided by the federal and cantonal authorities responsible. We are also adhering to all instructions given by these authorities. University management has taken the necessary provisions to be able to react effectively, should the situation become more serious. A task force monitors and assesses the situation on a continuous basis. It endeavors to ensure that teaching and research work can be carried out under normal conditions whenever possible.

Protect yourself and others

Please observe the recommendations of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) regarding the coronavirus: foph-coronavirus.ch. Please pay particular attention to the following instructions:

  • Wash your hands thoroughly.
  • Cough and sneeze into a paper tissue or the crook of your arm.
  • After use, put paper tissues in a closed waste bin.
  • Avoid shaking hands.
  • Stay at home if you have a fever or cough.
  • Only after calling the doctor's office or emergency ward.
  • Keep your distance (social distancing): For example, protect elderly people by keeping sufficient distance; keep your distance when standing in line; keep your distance during meetings.

More information

Official information from the authorities: 

Federal Office of Public Health

Canton of Lucerne

Stand: Donnerstag, 2. April 2020

Vor dem Hintergrund der Entwicklung der Coronavirus-Situation ist die Universität Luzern seit Montag, 16. März, digital. Der gesamte Universitätsbetrieb – Forschung, Lehre, Weiterbildung sowie die Arbeit der Verwaltungseinheiten und Dienste – läuft nahtlos weiter. Die Massnahmen dauern voraussichtlich bis mindestens Ende der Osterpause (Montag, 20. April 2020).

 

Uni/PH-Gebäude für Öffentlichkeit und Studierende geschlossen

Vor dem Hintergrund der verstärkten Massnahmen des Bundes und des Kantons ist das Uni/PH-Gebäude an der Frohburgstrasse 3 per sofort bis voraussichtlich am 19. April für die Öffentlichkeit und für die Studierenden geschlossen. Der Zugang zu dem sich im Gebäude befindenden Standort der Zentral- und Hochschulbibliothek Luzern ist in dieser Zeit ebenfalls nicht möglich, und auch die Mensa ist zu. Ebenfalls sind sämtliche Angebote des Hochschulsport Campus Luzern abgesagt. Öffentliche Anlässe in dieser Zeit sind abgesagt oder verschoben.

Digitalisierung der Lehre und von Sitzungen mit "Zoom"

Für die Durchführung von Lehrveranstaltungen und Sitzungen wird die Software "Zoom" eingesetzt. Informationen und Anleitungen finden Sie unter www.unilu.ch/zoom

Prüfungen/Leistungsnachweise

Die Universität Luzern setzt auch für die Durchführung der Leistungsnachweise auf digitale Lösungen. Die Fakultäten und das Departement Gesundheitswissenschaften und Medizin werden die Studierenden in nächster Zeit über die Prüfungsmodalitäten informieren.

Studierende mit behördlichem Aufgebot oder erweiterten Betreuungspflichten

Die erweiterte Universitätsleitung (EUL) hat an ihrer Sitzung vom 26. März beschlossen, dass auch Studierende mit coronabedingtem behördlichen Aufgebot (Militär-, Zivilschutz- oder Zivildienst; medizinischer Assistenzdienst) oder mit coronabedingten erweiterten Betreuungspflichten die Möglichkeit haben sollen, das FS 2020 regulär abzuschliessen. Die Fakultäten stellen sicher, dass betroffene Studierende den digitalen Lehrveranstaltungen folgen und den Leistungsnachweis erbringen können. Betroffene Studierende melden sich bitte bei ihren Studiengangsleitungen bzw. bei den fakultären Studienberatungen (sofern nicht bereits geschehen).

Angebot der Bibliothek

Die ZHB Luzern ist bestrebt, die Literaturversorgung für die Universität und PH Luzern möglichst lückenlos aufrechtzuerhalten. Alle ZHB-Standorte sowie die Bibliotheken der HSLU  bleiben bis auf Weiteres geschlossen.

Alle Universitätsangehörigen können Scans von Artikeln und Kapiteln aus dem gesamten Printbestand kostenlos an ihre offizielle E-Mail-Adresse bestellen. Bitte überprüfen Sie vor dem Bestellen im Bibliothekskonto, ob die entsprechende E-Mail-Adresse eingetragen ist. Aufgrund des Urheberrechts dürfen nur Auszüge aus urheberrechtlich geschützten Werken kopiert und versandt werden.

Eine Alternative ist die Nutzung des Postversands (reduzierter Tarif pro Buch: CHF 5.-).

Kopien von Zeitschriftenartikeln oder Kapiteln aus Büchern können direkt über den Bibliothekskatalog www.iluplus.ch bestellt werden. Nach dem Anmelden im Katalog das Dokument suchen und den richtigen Treffer anklicken. Ist das Buch verfügbar, kann über die Buttons "Bestellung" und "Kopierauftrag" die gewünschte Aktion ausgewählt werden. Andernfalls empfiehlt sich die Ausweitung der Suche auf www.swissbib.ch. Bei Kopieraufträgen zu beachten: Bei der Angabe der Seitenzahlen übermittelt das Bibliothekssystem lediglich 30 Zeichen, obwohl es beim Bestellen möglich ist, längere Texte zu schreiben. Wir empfehlen, falls notwendig, mehrere Kopieraufträge abzusenden, um das Problem zu umgehen.

Das Angebot an elektronischen Medien bleibt weiterhin rund um die Uhr unter www.zhbluzern.ch/recherche/e-medien/ zugänglich.

Für Mitarbeitende: Arbeitszeit und Arbeitszeiterfassung, Homeoffice, gegenseitige Hilfe

Regelung zu Arbeitszeit und Arbeitszeiterfassung

Die Massnahmen zur Eindämmung des Corona-Virus beeinflussen die Arbeit und das Umfeld von vielen Mitarbeitenden stark. Die erweiterte Universitätsleitung hat unter Berücksichtigung der besonderen Umstände Prinzipien und Empfehlungen zur Arbeitszeit und Arbeitszeiterfassung gutgeheissen. Damit die Arbeitszeit und Arbeitszeiterfassung keinen zusätzlichen Stress verursacht, hat die Universität eine einfache Regelung getroffen.

Weitere Infos zur Regelung von Arbeitszeit und Arbeitszeiterfassung

Homeoffice

Die Arbeit im Homeoffice richtet sich nach der bestehenden Regelung gemäss Merkblatt vom 24. Januar 2017. Vorgesetzte sind aufgerufen, Homeoffice zu bewilligen. Allerdings muss der Betrieb aufrecht erhalten bleiben und Ansprechpersonen pro Team müssen erreichbar sein.

Weitere Infos zum Thema Homeoffice

Gegenseitige Hilfe

Durch die Corona-Situation entstehen an der Universität neue Aufgaben und bei vielen Mitarbeitenden Mehrbelastungen, bei anderen wiederum frei Kapazitäten. Auf der Seite "Gegenseitige Hilfe" können nach Rücksprache mit den Vorgesetzten Arbeitsleistungen angeboten oder bei Bedarf abgefragt werden.

Unterstützungsangebote / Anfragen zur Mithilfe

Hotline und Kontakt für Universitätsangehörige

Für unversitätsspezifische Fragen stehen den Universitätsangehörigen (also Studierenden, Mitarbeitenden und Dozierenden) Mitglieder der Arbeitsgruppe Corona zur Verfügung: safecoronaremove-this.@remove-this.unilu.ch

Seit Dienstag, 17. März, besteht für Universitätsangehörige auch eine Hotline. Diese ist wochentags von 11 bis 13 Uhr unter folgenden Nummern in Betrieb:

Studierende: + 41 41 229 50 51
Dozierende: + 41 41 229 50 52
Mitarbeitende: + 41 41 229 50 53

Telefonische Auskünfte werden nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen erteilt, sind jedoch unverbindlich. Es kann keine Haftung übernommen werden.

Online-Beratung der psychologischen Beratungsstelle

Die Psychologische Beratungsstelle (PBLU) Campus Luzern bietet Studierenden, Dozierenden und Mitarbeitenden der Hochschulen in spezifischen Belastungssituationen und bei Problemen Unterstützung, Beratung und Begleitung an. Die Beratung ist unentgeltlich und vertraulich. Sie ist neu auch online möglich. Weitere Infos (Website Psychologische Beratungsstelle)

Projekt "Freiwillige gegenseitige Hilfe"

In Zeiten der Corona-Massnahen mit all den Einschränkungen ist gegenseitige Hilfe ein wichtiger Aspekt, die negativen Auswirkungen zu meistern.

Das Projekt "Freiwillige gegenseitige Hilfe"  verbindet Universitätsangehörige, die gerne helfen möchten und können mit Personen, welche Unterstützung brauchen. Es handelt sich um "Peer-Hilfe" oder "Nachbarschaftshilfe" wie zum Beispiel Lernhilfe, Unterstützung bei technischen Fragen oder Sozialkontakte. Ebenfalls eingebunden ist das von Prof. Dr. Walter Fellmann initiierte Projekt "eine*r für alle und alle für eine*n", welches älteren Personen Hilfe vermittelt (Botengänge, sozialer Kontakt etc.).
Möchten Sie mithelfen oder benötigen Sie Untersützung? Alle nötigen Infos finden Sie auf der OLAT-Seite des Projekts (erfordert Login).

Kontakt für Seniorinnen und Senioren, welche Hilfe benötigen: nachbarschaftshilferemove-this.@remove-this.unilu.ch oder 041 229 50 54 (täglich 10.30 Uhr bis 15.00 Uhr)

Für Mitarbeitende der Universität besteht ein separates Projekt für gegenseitige Hilfe : Unterstützungsangebote / Anfragen zur Mithilfe

Taskforce "Arbeitsgruppe Corona"

Die Universität beobachtet die Situation laufend, beurteilt die Lage auf Basis der Informationen der zuständigen eidgenössischen und kantonalen Behörden und hält sich an deren Vorgaben. Die Universitätsleitung hat die nötigen Vorkehrungen getroffen, um bei einer Zuspitzung der Lage adäquat reagieren zu können. Es wurde die Taskforce "Arbeitsgruppe Corona" eingesetzt, welche die Lage sukzessive beobachtet und beurteilt. Diese ist bestrebt, die Arbeit in Lehre und Forschung soweit immer möglich sicherzustellen.

So schützen wir uns

Bitte beachten Sie die Empfehlungen des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit (BAG) vor dem Coronavirus: https://bag-coronavirus.ch/. Beachten Sie insbesondere die folgenden Verhaltensanweisungen:

  • Gründlich Hände waschen. 
  • In Taschentuch oder Armbeuge husten und niesen. 
  • Papiertaschentuch nach Gebrauch in geschlossenen Abfalleimer. 
  • Hände schütteln vermeiden. 
  • Bei Fieber und Husten zu Hause bleiben. 
  • Nur nach telefonischer Anmeldung in Arztpraxis oder Notfallstation.
  • Abstand halten (Social Distancing): Zum Beispiel ältere Menschen durch genügend Abstand schützen; beim Anstehen Abstand halten; bei Sitzungen Abstand halten.

Weitere Informationen

Offizielle Informationen der Behörden

Bundesamts für Gesundheit

Kanton Luzern